What Happens When You Block Someone on Your iPhone?.
Someone annoys you with incessant phone calls and unwanted messages. Blocking a person seems like the right solution, but you’re not sure if it will prevent the person from contacting you.
In this post, we will explain what happens when you block a number on iPhone and other Apple devices.
But before that, let’s take a look at the process of blocking a contact or phone number on your iPhone.
How To Block Phone Numbers on iPhone
There are about five different ways to block someone on iPhone. You can block contacts from the Phone / Dial app, Messages app, FaceTime, and Mail app. You can also block someone through the Contacts app.
Block phone numbers in the Phone app
Are you getting annoying phone calls or robot calls on your iPhone? Go to your device’s call log and contact list and block the number / person behind the calls.
Open the Phone app, go to the Contacts tab and select the person or contact you want to block. Scroll down and tap Block this person. Tap Block Contact in the confirmation window. continue.
If the number is not saved, go to the Recent tab, tap the information icon next to the number and select Block this person.
Blocking phone numbers in Messages
If an unknown number or a saved contact continues to send you unwanted messages, block that person directly in the Messages app.
Launch the Messages app and open a conversation or text from a number. Then tap the person’s name or number, tap Information on the next page, select Block This Caller, and tap Block Contact.
Blocking a contact will block all numbers associated with that contact. If the contact card contains more than one phone number, the person will not be able to reach you on all phone numbers after the contact is blocked.
You can block unknown numbers and unwanted callers by using third party caller ID apps. Continue to the next section to learn how the built-in iOS Lock feature prevents unwanted calls, text messages, and emails.
Now that you know how to block a number on iPhone, let’s see what happens when you do this.
Text Messages and iMessage
Blocked numbers cannot reach you via SMS or iMessage. Whatever messages the blocked contact sends to your phone number will not be delivered to your iPhone.
A blocked person may charge for communication (s) with their mobile operator. The text message or iMessage may even show as Delivered on the blocked person’s device, but you won’t receive the text (s).
It should be noted that the text you send to blocked contacts (via iMessage) will not be delivered. But you can send SMS and MMS messages to the blocked number / contact.
Like text messages, you also won’t receive phone calls from blocked contacts. Your iPhone will not ring when someone calls you, and the call attempt will not appear in your device’s call log. You will also not receive missed call notifications.
When someone you blocked calls you, they are automatically redirected to your voicemail. You will not receive a voicemail notification. Also, your voicemail will not appear at the top of the Voicemail tab in the Phone app. You will need to scroll down to the Blocked Messages section in your iPhone’s Voicemail Inbox, located at the bottom of the Voicemail tab.
The blocked subscriber may also receive a response from the service that your number is busy or unavailable – depending on your mobile operator.
FaceTime Audio and Video Calls
If the person you’ve blocked uses FaceTime, they won’t be able to reach you using FaceTime audio and video calls. When they FaceTime your number, the call goes to their device, but you don’t receive a notification on your iPhone.
Interestingly, you can still reach blocked numbers using FaceTime audio and video calls.
Mail and iCloud
What happens when you block a number on your iPhone? iOS blocks all phone numbers and email addresses associated with a contact. Therefore, the person will not be able to send you emails from a blocked address in the Apple Mail app.
By default, the Mail app stores emails from blocked contacts in your Inbox. However, emails are flagged or flagged, so these emails are marked with a flag / block icon. When you open the email, you will see a notification that reads “This is a message from a sender on your blocked list.”
If you don’t want emails from blocked contacts to be delivered to your inbox, go to the Mail settings menu and change the Blocked Sender Options.
Go to Settings> Mail> Blocked Sender Options and select Move to Trash under Actions.
This will automatically send emails from blocked contacts to the Trash folder in the Mail app.
Keep in mind that blocked email addresses may still send you emails through third-party email apps like Gmail, Outlook, etc. Don’t want to receive emails from blocked addresses in third-party apps? Go to the application settings menu and block the address/contact.
Manage Blocked Contacts
iOS maintains a list of blocked contacts in your iPhone’s settings menu. There are several ways to view the complete list of blocked contacts on your iPhone.
Go to Settings> Phone and select Blocked contacts.
Or go to Settings> Messages> Block Contacts.
Another way to view this list is through Settings> Mail> Blocked.
To remove a phone number or email address from the list, select Edit, press the red minus button next to the number, and select Unblock. Then click Finish to save your changes.
Say Bye to Unwanted Calls and Messages
Blocking a contact or phone number is the best way to avoid unwanted spam calls and messages. The blocking feature in iOS prevents incoming calls, SMS, MMS, iMessage, FaceTime, and emails.
While email blocking works on all Apple devices associated with your iCloud email, other forms of blocking are device-specific. A blocked number can reach you via phone calls or SMS if you change your phone or insert a SIM card into a new iPhone or Android device.
In addition, a blocked contact may still be able to reach you via calls and text messages in third-party applications such as WhatsApp, Telegram, etc. If you do not want to receive messages from a contact in these applications, block the person’s number in this application settings menu.
If you are unable to reach the iPhone user with phone calls, iMessage, or FaceTime, they may have blocked you. It is also possible that your calls are not going through because the user has configured Do Not Disturb on their iPhone. Try contacting the person with an alternate phone number or email. If you do not receive a response after a few days, most likely you have been blocked by a user.
What Happens When You Block Someone on Your iPhone?
What Happens When You Block Someone on Your iPhone?