We have seen these buttons so many times since they have become an integral part of the Internet. If you are too lazy to sign up for services using your email address, you can simply use your social media or Google accounts to sign up for those services.
These websites then link to Facebook, Google, Twitter, etc., and these sites provide an authentication token with your basic data such as your name, photo, and email address. Bam, you’re in business.
The problem is that once you allow websites to access through the door to your social media accounts, it can get risky. What if this website has bad intentions? What if they try to collect more of your user information, such as passwords?
This is why you should regularly check which sites have access to your social media or Google accounts. If you no longer use the site, close its access! Here’s how to do it with the top three third-party login sites.
After logging into Facebook, follow this link. There you will see all the different sites that you have subscribed to and logged in using your Facebook credentials.
Before you revoke your subscription, you can decide, first of all, to see if you can solve the problem you have encountered in another way. For example, if an app leaves unwanted status updates all over your Facebook wall, you can change your privacy setting so that no one can see it.
If you decide that canceling an application is the only answer, close that application window and a small checkbox will appear next to it. Choose it.
The Delete button will now light up. When you click on it, you will be asked to confirm that you really want to uninstall the application. You can also tell Facebook to delete any messages, photos, or videos that the app might post to Facebook.
Pressing “Delete” again will strip the application of access rights to your account and you will receive confirmation.
Log in to your Twitter account, then go here to your settings. The Apps & Sessions tab is for checking who has access to your Twitter data.
I was completely taken aback by how many have accumulated on my Twitter account since my last purge a few months ago.
Just click on the ones you want to revoke and, like Facebook, you will see detailed information about that website.
Click “Revoke Access” at the bottom and that’s it. Instead of asking you to confirm, like Facebook does, Twitter turns a revocation link into a revocation link if you suddenly change your mind. Just click on it to return everything to normal.
Go back to the apps page, rinse and repeat with the other apps you want to destroy.
Google requires you to sign in to your account, which can be accessed here or through your Gmail settings.
If you follow the direct link, you need to scroll down until you see this field.
Click on “Manage Third Party Access” at the bottom to open it properly. Since the last cleaning, I have over 30 applications installed here, so it’s time to get rid of the intrusive entourage.
With each of them, you can immediately see what it has access to. To get rid of one of them, click on it.
Click the blue “Revoke Access” button and you’ll be prompted to confirm deletion before Google ships it in the box.
After clicking on “ON” the application will disappear. Continue this process for those to whom you would like to order the march.
Obviously, there are many more services that you can use to log into websites. WordPress, for example, is offering this, and Apple recently announced that they will also offer Sign In with Apple ID very soon. But for now, Facebook, Twitter, and Google are the three you need to constantly monitor.