How to Block a YouTube Channel 2021.
YouTube is the most visited site and the most popular search engine after Google. With over 500 hours of video downloaded every minute and over 1 billion hours of video content watched, it’s easy to see why.
The sheer amount of content is enough to overwhelm you when you search for videos on a topic that interests you. YouTube helps you with this by displaying recommendations to help you find channels or videos that you might otherwise have missed.
However, it can be annoying if there is a channel that you are not interested in and it keeps showing up.
For content creators who upload videos to YouTube every day, the challenge is keeping trolls from interacting with their channel.
Whether you are on YouTube to watch other people’s videos or upload your own, you can fix such problems by blocking YouTube channels permanently.
How to Block a YouTube Channel
Perhaps you subscribed to the channel knowingly or accidentally and no longer want to see any video content from it. In such cases, you can block the YouTube channel by unsubscribing from it.
- To unsubscribe from a YouTube channel, go to the channel home page and select or tap Subscribe.
- Select or tap “Unsubscribe” to confirm your action.
Note. Once you unsubscribe from a YouTube channel, your subscription will expire and you will not receive any channel notifications in your feed. However, you can continue to receive video recommendations from a channel from time to time, but you can block them by following the steps in the next section.
To block videos from a specific channel that YouTube is still offering you, get rid of them permanently by following these steps.
Note. The steps below are the same for both desktop and mobile.
- To do this, go to YouTube and click on the ellipsis next to the video title.
- Then select Not Interesting, Do Not Recommend Channel, or Complain.
- If you choose Not Interesting, you are telling YouTube to stop recommending this video and related videos to you, regardless of which channel they come from.
- you if select the Do not recommend channel option, YouTube will not show you videos on any topic from that channel. This option is ideal if you want to exclude videos from a specific account related to your area of â€‹â€‹interest.
- The Report option is useful if you think your video is dangerous, offensive, or misleading and you want YouTube to be aware of it. If you choose this option, YouTube will no longer show you the video but will inform them that they need to investigate and possibly remove it from the platform.
you are if a parent and want to protect your children from receiving or viewing inappropriate content, you can block the YouTube channel or use Safe Mode.
Restricted Mode allows you to filter out potentially mature and/or inappropriate content that you prefer not to see or for others using your device to see. You can turn on Safe Mode by selecting or clicking your profile picture, selecting Safe Mode, and then switching it to On.
There are other YouTube alternatives for kids, including YouTube Kids, ABCMouse, and SproutOnline, each offering kid-friendly, free-to-play videos. YouTube Kids specifically filters all content and only allows safe content, while preventing any cyber bullying or commenting issues on the platform.
How to Block a Channel on YouTube Kids
YouTube Kids is a dedicated video service with all content especially tailored for kids. The platform offers family, educational and fun videos with colorful large images and icons from different channels that kids love.
If you’re not sure which channel and what content it serves your child, you can block YouTube channels or videos so your child won’t see them again when you sign in to YouTube Kids.
How to block a YouTube Kids channel
You can block a YouTube Kids channel from the channel watch page.
- To do this, go to the viewing page and click “More” (three dots) in the upper right corner of the video.
- Then click Lock.
- In the dialog box that appears, select “Block entire channel” to block the channel associated with the video, and then click “Block”.
Enter your own password or
enter the amount on the screen.
Note. If you want to unblock the YouTube channel you just blocked, re-enter the app, go to Settings (gear icon) and click Unblock Videos> Yes, Unblock. If you are using the app with Family Link, go to the Family Link settings and unblock the video.
If you don’t want to block the entire YouTube Kids channel, you can block a specific video from that channel instead.
- To do this, log into the app, click More next to the video whose channel you want to block, and select Block this video.
- Enter your own password or enter the amount on the screen.
- You will receive a green bar notification at the bottom of the screen confirming that the channel has been blocked, as well as the option to cancel if you want to unblock it immediately afterward.
How to Block a YouTube Channel from Search Results
There is no direct YouTube method that would block a YouTube channel from search results. Instead, you can use a Chrome extension like Channel Blocker to do it for you.
The extension allows you to block YouTube comments and videos using regular expressions and/or blacklisting users. You can use it to block users, separate videos or entire feeds from search results, and it will not collect your user data.
Put the YouTube Block Button to Good Use
We hope this guide helped you block YouTube channels or videos on your device or browser. Go ahead and enjoy watching YouTube without the annoying video recommendations that pop up from time to time as you browse the platform.
What tricks do you use to block YouTube channels? Share with us in the comments.
How to Block a YouTube Channel 2021
How to Block a YouTube Channel 2021